Congress releases 8th list of 14 candidates for Lok Sabha elections | Latest News India

The Congress on Wednesday released its eighth list of 14 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Congress flags waves at rallies(File)
Congress flags waves at rallies(File)

The list includes the parliamentary constituencies of Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh which will go to polls starting April 19.

Hindustan Times – your fastest source for breaking news! Read now.

The party on Wednesday held its Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting to discuss the names of the candidates. The party has fielded Dolly Sharma from Ghaziabad while Nakul Dubey has been named as the Congress candidate from Sitapur.

Tatiparthi Jeevan Reddy will contest from Telagana’s Nizamabad while Neelam Madhu has been named as the party’s candidate from Medak.

Earlier on Tuesday, the rand old party named five candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha elections – four from Chhattisgarh and one from Tamil Nadu.

R Sudha has been named from the Mayiladuthurai Lok Sabha constituency in Tamil Nadu. The Mayiladuthurai constituency was with its ally DMK in the last elections. Congress leader Mani Shankar Aiyar had been an MP from this constituency thrice earlier.

In Chhattisgarh, the central election committee of the grand old party has decided to field Shashi Singh from Surguja, Menaka Devi Singh from Raigarh, Devender Singh Yadav from Bilaspur and Biresh Thakur from Kanker. Surguja, Raigarh and Kanker are reserved seats for the Scheduled Tribes (ST) in the tribal-dominated state.

Elections 2024:

The elections for the 543 parliamentary constituencies will be held in seven phases, starting on April 19 and culminating on June 1. The counting of votes will be held on June 4. The phase 1 polling will be held on April 19, the second phase on April 26, third phase on May 7, fourth phase on May 13, 5th phase on May 20, 6th phase on May 25 and the last and the 7th phase on June 1.


Read More

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *